NEA 2023 recognises 29 entities for commendable sustainability efforts

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 17 (Bernama) — The Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change (NRECC) together with the Malaysian Green Technology and Climate Change Corporation (MGTC) today announced and awarded 29 winners of the National Energy Awards (NEA) 2023.

MGTC in a statement said 23 of the winners from the three categories — Energy Management, Energy Eciency and Renewable Energy — will represent Malaysia in the ASEAN Energy Awards scheduled for Aug 24 and 25.

NRECC Minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad said the ministry organised NEA annually since 2018 to raise awareness, acceptance and adoption of sustainable energy practices across all industries, aligning it with Malaysia’s commitment to sustainable economic growth.

Malaysia requires everyone to play their part in our race to net zero and the NEA participants have surely led the path with their ideas, innovation and implementation for all of us to emulate.

“I am certain more businesses will be inspired by their example and look forward to seeing increased participation in future editions of NEA,” he was quoted as saying, in the statement.

According to the statement, this year’s 114 submissions offered a commendable combined energy reduction of over 1.34 GW in terms of electricity savings, equivalent to carbon emissions reduction of over 23,000 metric tonnes per annum.

Winners for energy management category are Melaka’s Hospital Alor Gajah and Hospital Jasin, Johor’s Hospital Tangkak and Hospital Pontian, Johor Port Authority, Micron Semiconductor Malaysia, Ramatex Textiles Industrial, Indah Water Konsortium Klang Selatan and Butterworth Selatan.

Meanwhile, winners for energy-eciency category are Tzu Chi International School, PJ Midtown, Johor Port Authority, Kenanga Tower, Lotus’s Bukit Mertajam, Hospital Sultanah Maliha, Menara PJH, IOI City Mall Phase 1, Spritzer ASRS Warehouse and Projek Lebuhraya Usahama (PLUS) Berhad.

Winners for renewable energy are Proton Tanjung Malim, reNIKOLA Holdings, Sime Darby Plantation Renewable Energy, TONIBUNG, Ranhill SAJ, Sabah Softwoods, SIRIM Berhad, Alam Flora Environmental Solutions and H2 Energy.

For more information on NEA 2023, please visit the ocial website: www.nationalenergyawards.com.my. — BERNAMA

Share this post with your friends